Roland Dürre
Thursday February 23rd, 2017

Aphorism: HUMANS & LEADERSHIP

 

Many thanks to Christian&Daniel (© Visual-Braindump)

Two theses

(I)
If “hierarchical structures” dominate an enterprise, then a culture of “agile, digital, lean, open, social“ is not possible. There might be a few exceptions for start-ups founded by a private person, but they only prove that the rule is in general correct.

(II)
Human beings feel comfortable in social systems like enterprises if they experience, respect and appreciation and if they can take responsibility in a spirit of courage and joy. The counter argument that this cannot be true for persons who have been trained in obedience and dependence is not in accordance with my concept of humanity and consequently not valid for me.

I defend these two theses vehemently.

Two ideas

(I)

A good rule for entrepreneurs is

“Only employ persons of whom you believe they have at least the potential to do the job better than you yourself would be able to do it!“
I (almost) always stuck to this rule at “InterFace Connection”. And my experiences were very good. It is also true at Google and probably one of the factors that made this enterprise so tremendously successful.

(II)
If you have employees who, following (I) are “better” than their bosses, then how can a system and its agents come up with the idea that control “from the top”, central ideas, set rules, division of labour, set and structured processes and a formal systematized communication might be better for the enterprise and its stakeholders (employees, customers, shareholders, ..) than an agile self-organization of the teams and informal networks. Especially in times of rapid change!

Incidentally, there is also a method (or rather: a procedure or culture) called: “Kanban”. I believe that both theses and ideas are true for all areas where humans work together, be in as a software engineer or as an elderly care nurse.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

1 Kommentar zu “Aphorism: HUMANS & LEADERSHIP”

  1. Chris Wood (Friday February 24th, 2017)

    The saying “the exception proves the rule” is now rather silly. It is based on an old meaning “test” for “prove”, going back to Latin. Thus “proof whiskey” had been tested regarding alcohol content.
    Is the parallel German saying based on an archaic use of “bestätigen”?

Kommentar verfassen

*

Gedankensplitter: MENSCH&FÜHRUNG

Mein Dank geht an Christian&Daniel (© Visual-Braindump)

Zwei Thesen

(I)
Wenn in einem Unternehmen „Hierarchische Strukturen“ dominieren ist eine Kultur des „agil, digital, lean, open, social“ nicht möglich. Ausnahmen wie von einem Gründer dominierte Start-Ups mag es geben, diese bestätigen jedoch nur die Regel.

(II)
Menschen fühlen sich in Sozialen Systemen wie Unternehmen genau dann wohl, wenn sie Respekt und Wertschätzung erleben und mit Mut und Freude dabei sein und Verantwortung übernehmen können. Das Gegenargument, dass dies für Menschen nicht gelten würde, die auf Gehorsam und Unselbstständigkeit dressiert worden sind, entspricht nicht meinem Menschenbild und ist deshalb für mich nicht valide.

Diese beiden Thesen verteidige ich mit Vehemenz.

Zwei Gedanken

(I)
Eine gute Regel für Unternehmer heißt
„Stelle nur Mitarbeiter ein, denen Du zutraust, dass sie in ihrem Job zumindest potentiell besser sind als Du selbst!“
An diese Regel habe ich mich bei der „InterFace Connection“ (fast) immer gehalten. Und bin damit sehr gut damit gefahren. Sie gilt auch bei Google und dürfte zum außergewöhnlichen Erfolg des Unternehmens beigetragen haben.

(II)
Wenn man Mitarbeiter hat, die (I) folgend „besser“ sind als ihre Chefs, wie kommen dann Systeme und ihre Agenten auf den Gedanken, dass Steuerung „von oben“zentrales VordenkenFestlegen, der Arbeitsteiligkeit, die Vorgabe strukturierter Abläufe (genannt Prozesse) und eine formal-systematisierte Kommunikation besser für das Unternehmen und seine Stakeholder (Mitarbeiter, Kunden, Shareholder …) sein könnte als agile Selbstorganisation der Teams und informelle Vernetzung. Besonders in einer Zeit mit schneller Veränderung!

🙂 Es gibt übrigens auch eine Methode (oder besser ein Vorgehen und oder eine Kultur) namens „Kanban„. Ich meine, dass die beiden Thesen und Gedanken für alle Branchen gelten, in denen Menschen zusammen arbeiten, ob als Software-Ingenieur oder Alten-Pflegerin. 

RMD

Share on twitter
Twitter

Eine Antwort

  1. The saying „the exception proves the rule“ is now rather silly. It is based on an old meaning „test“ for „prove“, going back to Latin. Thus „proof whiskey“ had been tested regarding alcohol content.
    Is the parallel German saying based on an archaic use of „bestätigen“?

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Suche

Kategorien

Aktuelle Umfrage

Wie würden Sie die EURO-Krise meistern?

Ergebnisse anzeigen

Loading ... Loading ...
Sei anders, sei Du selbst!

Sei anders, sei Du selbst!

Nicht nur weil bald Weihnacht ist sondern auch damit wir alle glücklicher und erfolgreicher werden.
Führungsphilosophie in zwei Sätzen (Unternehmertagebuch #129)

Führungsphilosophie in zwei Sätzen (Unternehmertagebuch #129)

Empathie und Respekt haben UND zeigen! Keine Angst verbreiten!
SUCHE
Drücken Sie "Enter" zum Starten der Suche